Track 3: Father and Son, Reminiscing the Past

Braev Lee- Takehito Koyasu
Alternis Dim- Ryota Takeuchi

Braev and Alternis: Father and son, reminiscing the past

Braev: Come, Alternis, take a look at this

Alternis: This is….!

Braev: Mahzer repaired the clothing you wanted to wear to the festival, even though it’s said the scars etched on the armor can be treated as medals from experiencing multiple harrowing battles, don’t you think it’s inappropriate to attend the festival in armor of such a state?

Alternis: …… To actually specially spend such effort to prepare…for my sake…

Braev: Hahahaha, there’s no need to be so formal, see, my armor was also repaired with Mahzer’s aid. If I kept wearing such beat up armor, I can’t get motivated at all

Alternis: ……I cannot be more grateful!

Braev: Alright, quickly try it on

Alternis: There are no words to express my gratitude towards the kind of concern that Grand Marshal and your Lordship’s wife show me. For the sake of I who bears so much sins…

Braev: Well, well, today is a festival worthy of joy, don’t speak so seriously.

Alternis: No. Because it’s today so I have to say such words. Being able to attend this Reunion festival where “People reunite with their important companions” was not something that I can even dream of in the past.

Braev: I see you still remember. That time you were so overjoyed, your first Reunion festival.

Alternis: Of course. That was the year after you adopted me, who was left huddled in the slums of Florem…I will never be able to forget it.

Braev: The you, at that time, tenaciously survived. You had to depend solely on yourself at such a tender age.

Alternis: That time, I was abandoned by my mother and was frequently unable to get food so I had to struggle to live. For that, I had to make many people sad and move forward while pushing others aside and hurt many more.

Braev: However, humans, are able to turn over a new leaf.

Alternis: Yes. Because of you, Grand Marshal, I was able to change anew. You bestowed to me, someone who had given up on living, warm food, a warm shelter as well as…a warm family…you have give me too much, too much.

Braev: Hahahaha, it’s definitely far better than sleeping on a stone pavement.

Alternis: It was you who brought me home and said to me “From now on, this is where you will live, alright?”

Braev: Is that so…I don’t remember that part very well any more. However I still remember the scene of Mahzer smiling warmly and Edea’s eyes widened in surprise very clearly. That time, you were a very silent child and Edea kept asking “Why doesn’t that child say anything”……

Alternis: Yes. At that time, I did not have the desire to speak at all. However, Edea did not relent and kept trying to talk to me.

Braev: I was always busy with work and Mahzer was bedridden from illness, Edea also had no siblings so I believe she must have felt very lonely. And then you showed up and it was as though she gained a new older brother, this must have made her very much delighted.

Alternis: …An older brother…was it? Edea always came to take care of me on her own accord and then tried to read picture books to me while stuttering, rather then saying as an older brother, I feel like I was treated as a younger brother.

Braev: Haha, that’s Edea’s personality, forgive her for that.

Alternis:….. It’s not that bad! I….I’m very happy about it……A child of similar age to me who approaches me with such an innocent gaze and with no motive or calculated schemes has never appeared before then.

Braev: Even faced with Edea who was like that, you never uttered a word in the end. It was because you have not opened your heart to others completely….?

Alternis: No, that is…it was more of the other way round….that is….

Braev: Hm? What’s wrong?

Alternis: If I opened my mouth……I just felt that I might uncontrollably say that so……

Braev: Hm??

Alternis: I…From that time, I started to wish, that…to Edea…propo……

Braev: That was really a nostalgic time! Alternis.

Alternis: ……Eh?

Braev: Eh?

Alternis: Ah……

Braev: Uh…what’s wrong?

Alternis: No…nothing at all! Please do not take it to heart, please, continue speaking.

Braev: Do you still remember that incident? When those wicked children tried to pick on you in the steets.

Alternis: Definitely. I was called by them to go to this small alleyway in the streets of Eternia……

Braev: You were really impressive that time. You did not retaliate no matter how you were surrounded and then beaten and attacked by fifteen people no less. You still endured.

Alternis: I didn’t think there was any kind of wrong to eliminate any trouble around me. If it were me before being adopted by the Grand Marshal, I would definitely have paid back equally. I would have been grinning uncontrollably and beaten them till not a part of them is left unhurt.

Braev: You understood how strong the dark power you had was, and with it, the terror. Even though you were only a child but if you unleashed such a dark energy, you could have taken the other party’s life.

Alternis:…yes. However, after that, Edea rushed over with every intention to fight.

Braev: “I’m going to take revenge for Alternis’s sake!” Shouting such a phrase, she ran out of the house. And then she trashed all those nasty children.

Alternis: You praised Edea’s actions without any kind of farce. At that time, I was still a bit astonished.

Braev: Hahahahaha, did you think that I was a moronic father who coddled his daughter and would praise such brash actions?

Alternis: …….Yes, even though it was just a bit. However, now I understand. That was a knight’s spirit.

Braev: Yes, Edea was furious because Alternis was getting hurt and from that, she plucked up her courage to attack opponents who were older than her. Even though she got hurt herself, she still successfully served her own slice of revenge. I was pleased that Edea had awareness of this knight’s spirit, so I praised her. Well, this doesn’t have much difference from moronic parents who cannot see their children’s flaws…

Alternis: When I was taking care of Edea’s injuries, I swore from the bottom of my heart, I would definitely protect Edea who was obliged to jump into battle for my sake. And then, to Edea……I would like to propo……

Braev: Right! I just remembered that!

Alternis: Eh?

Braev: Hm?

Alternis: Nothing……

Braev: The time when you first spoke, do you remember?

Alternis: Of course. I won’t forget that. That was when I attended the Reunion festival for the first time right? You brought me to the celebration that was to be participated with important people.

Braev: Yes, at that moment, you opened your mouth to speak for the first time.

Alternis: Yes. I don’t know if Grand Marshal still remembers the events clearly? There were rows of stores on the two sides of the festival’s road and Grand Marshal, you bought that thing for me.

Braev: Of course I do. It seemed to be a very delicious, you ate it till even your cheeks were full.

Alternis: Eh?

Braev: No! That kind of thing can’t be eaten right?

Alternis: Ye…yes!

Braev: Eh…..That’s it! After I bought it for you, you happily went to ride it!

Alternis: Uu……

Braev: That item cannot be ridden on! Hahahahahaha, I was just joking….!

Alternis: Um……Do you want me to take it out to show you…?

Braev: Hm? It’s in your pocket? It’s something that can fit into the pocket……

Alternis: Yes.

Braev: Wallet…..

Alternis: Orh……

Braev: The, it’s a pocketwatch!

Alternis: Ah……

Braev: It’s not that as well! Um…… A picture book of monsters……

Alternis: Ah! That’s very close!

Braev: Right! Very close to a picture book of monsters! ….it’s that! Un! It has to be that!

Alternis: (in anticipation) About that….now, can I….reveal the answer….?

Braev: Mu……Mrgrgr, the answer or what, doesn’t mean I forgotten at all……!

Alternis: ……It’s this. I still bring it everywhere with me until now. Every time I finished writing in one, I will buy the exact same kind, this is already the sixth one.

Braev: Oh……Um, cough…that’s right! It’s that. When I asked if I could get you something, you just silently pointed at that.

Alternis: Yes.

Braev: Hehehehe. I already say that I would get you only one item but because you said you wanted that, in the end I also had the dilemma of having to buy a pen for you as well.

Alternis: As expected of the Grand Marshal, you remember the details clearly.

Braev: Em. Of course.

Alternis: Because you both in the end, Edea started throwing a tantrum.

Braev: Hahahahaha, at that time, what was it that Edea wanted?

Alternis: It was turkey stuffed with beef filling.

Braev: Standing next to Edea who ate till her mouth was stuffed full, you finally spoke to me while seriously looking at me in the eye. That was the first time you said something. You said “Please teach me the way of the sword”.

Alternis: That time, what Grand Marshal, what you said to me was “Why do you want me to teach you how to use a sword?”

Braev: “My sword is the sword of justice, it’s the opposite of your sword of darkness. If you learnt my sword skills, your sword might become weaker than it is now.” At that time, I seemed to have replied as such.

Alternis: Each and every word, that’s exactly how it was.

Braev: You thought for a while and then gave me an answer. “Even so, I also hope that you can guide me. I want to be familiar with what a sword of justice is and then become stronger and become a man who can achieve something.”

Alternis: …….You can even remember this? That’s a bit….embarrassing……

Braev: I can’t possibly forget that. Because that’s the path of justice that my son chose to take, the moment where he was resolute to seek true strength.

Alternis: ……Grand Marshal, please allow me to show my gratitude to you once more. To actually treat someone like me like your own son……

Braev: Hahaha, I already said just now, today is a day of celebration, there’s no need for such seriousness. You can go ahead first with Mahzer. I will go fetch His Majesty Lester and Sage Yulana. We will meet at the event place.

Alternis: ……Thank you so much.

Leave a comment